Transportation Planning

Ada County Highway District Homepage

About Ada County Highway District

  • Established in 1972 as an independent government entity, the Ada County Highway District (ACHD) is responsible for all short-range planning, construction, maintenance, operations, rehabilitation and improvements to Ada County's urban streets, rural roadways (excluding state highways) and bridges. Geographically, the Districts jurisdiction includes Boise, Eagle, Garden City, Kuna, Meridian, Star and the unincorporated areas of Ada County; it is the only consolidated countywide highway district in the State of Idaho.
  • The District maintains and operates approximately 2,100 miles of roads and streets in Ada County, with an estimated value of three billion dollars. This infrastructure includes facilities that range from multi-lane, arterial streets with a computerized signal system, to narrow, farm-to-market roadways.
  • Five Commissioners govern the District. Together, they are responsible for guiding the planning, development and implementation of transportation facilities throughout the county. Elections are held every two years on a rotating basis, and each Commissioner represents a separate sub-district.
  • Because strong public involvement is crucial to the transportation planning process, the Commissioners and staff regularly host and attend meetings and public hearings to gather feedback from concerned citizens. The Commissioners also hold regular public meetings at the Districts headquarters, and participate in joint meetings with municipal and county officials.
  • An appointed Director, who serves as chief administrator, manages the District on a day-to-day basis. The Director is responsible for managing five departments: Administration, Engineering, Maintenance and Operations, Traffic, and Plans and Development which combined, total nearly 300 employees.

Idaho Transportation Department Homepage

About Idaho Transportation Department

  • In 1913, the Idaho State Legislature created the State Highway Commission. The group consisted of the Secretary of State, the State Engineer and three other members to be appointed by the governor. The Commission was empowered to:
    • plan, build and maintain new state highways
    • alter, improve or discontinue any state highway
    • purchase, condemn, or otherwise obtain necessary easements
    • have general supervision of all highways within the state
    • expend the fund created for the construction, maintenance and improvement of state highways
    • maintain and improve state highways
    • make and enforce rules
    • employ a Chief Engineer and assistants
    • supervise registration of vehicles
    • keep a complete record of all activities and expenses
  • In 1919, the Commission was abolished and its functions were transferred to a Bureau of Highways in the Department of Public Works. A property tax was enacted by the Legislature to fund roads for the state and bonds were issued to build a highway system.
  • In 1950, the Idaho Department of Highways was reorganized and placed under the direction of a governing Board. 
  • In 1974, the Idaho Department of Highways became the Idaho Transportation Department. 
  • The Department of Motor Vehicles originally reported to the Idaho Department of Law Enforcement, but was transferred to the Idaho Transportation Department in 1982.
  • The City of Kuna is located within District 3 that covers just under 22,000 square miles of southwest Idaho and maintains 2,647 lane miles and 399 bridges. District 3 encompasses the 10 southwest counties, the most roads and bridges of all the districts, and nearly 40 percent of the state’s population.

Kuna Transportation Studies and Maps

Ada County Road Construction